You May Have Already Not Won the Lottery!

I was just randomly checking my non-political blog (the blog you’re currently reading) stats, and even though I haven’t updated for about two weeks or so, and to my amazement my site-views have shot up dramatically over the past few days.  I was quite surprised, honestly, and then I figured out why.  The vast majority of the views were of my lottery scam post, and the vast majority of them came from searches related to the scam email.  Which means, of course, there must be a new wave of these emails, and people wanted to figure out if it was legitimate.

Now, I’m happy that people know enough to at least question these emails, but I’m also very disturbed that to a certain level, some think it’s even a possibility that these emails are legitimate.  In fact, it rather scares me.

So, if you’re one of those people who have found my blog through a search of some keywords in a lottery email, please take note of the following: you have not won the lottery.  You will never win the lottery.  When you receive an email stating that you won a lottery you never even entered, you have not won the lottery.  When said email comes from a country you’ve never even been to, again, you have not won the lottery.  When the email also contains innumerable typos, say it with me now, you have not won the lottery.

That said, if you’re reading this you have just won the Rumpusgoopus/Comrus lottery!  To collect your winnings please send me all your personal information, bank account numbers, social security numbers, and your mother’s maiden name, and I’ll send you a check for 9,340,000,000,000 British Pounds Sterling ($3,000 of which you’ll have to send back to me for tax purposes).

Cheers,
Charlie

One response to “You May Have Already Not Won the Lottery!

  1. I’ve been trying to start correspondences on craigslist personal ads for the last month because I thought it would be a cool blog-fodder experiment. There are no real people on craigslist personals. Just robots for dating websites that send automatic responses.

Leave a Reply

